Doesn’t anything works in Portugal???

I know all prizes have already been sent and the contest is over. But my intention was to make a marshmallow creature, so last night my mallow creature came alive.

I made a sheep! Eating marshmallow grass in a Hot Cocoa field 😀

But today I’m pissed off!

Last August I had an awkward episode. One morning I got up not being able to open my right eye (and not feeling my right side of the body, but I was so sleepy that I didn’t care). Since one of my colleagues from work had conjunctivitis, I thought it was the same… I was sleepy ok?

So I went to the Local Heath Center, waited a couple of hours until I was seen by the doctor, and in that waiting period I realize I wasn’t feeling my right side of face or my right arm… This is weird…

The doctor made me some exams and sent me right away to the Public Central Hospital to be seen by a neurologist. In the hospital I made blood exams, a CAT scan to my head, stayed in the hospital for 16 hours, and then they sent me home. The neurologist suspects I had a CVA.

That doctor requested an urgent magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and an urgent appointment after the MRI to see the result.

August went by… I was completely fine, felling every piece of my body! September came with a smaller episode. This time I woke up not feeling one finger. Meanwhile, I received a letter from the Public Hospital scheduling my MRI to November and a couple of weeks later another letter scheduling my neurologist appointment (I remember they were both URGENT) to 20th February (today).

October I went to a private doctor, because I still wasn’t felling my sweet finger. Since I was already being seen by a neurologist, she asked me to do some exams to my articulations and muscles. One of them is awful! They stick huge needles all over your arm and give you electric shocks. Everything was fine, so there is something wrong with my central nervous system 😦

I’ve made the MRI, asked a doctor friend in that hospital to see my exam (cause it’s in the hospital database), but my neurologist hasn’t written the report. Since it isn’t his specialty he couldn’t say anything 😦

The New Year started with some light feelings on my finger, and now I’m almost good. But I still want to know what’s wrong with me and why I had those two episodes. Luckily, my appointment came!!

Or not!! Yesterday the hospital called me canceling it! Said they will send me a new letter with a new appointment date. And as the waiting list is 6 months, that’s when I will know my MRI result!

So, I’M PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Doesn’t anything works in Portugal???

  1. OMG… Sofia! I’m so sorry to hear about your troubles! I’m shocked that an URGENT exam and report takes up to 6 months to occur. I’d head back to your doctor and tell them what happened and see if they can at least get access to the results… something has to be quicker than waiting for a new appointment because they can’t keep the ones they schedule with yOU! Insane!

  2. Really, that is the only and true Portugal medical care system! I hope everything turn out fine with you at the end! But here is no diferent, everybody must have health insurance, or else… They do tend to copy the American system. But i had my little one here in South Africa in public hospital, guess i was luky 🙂

Leave a Reply

